Question of the Week: Feeling God’s Presence

Last Friday I was away at a conference, so I was unable to offer my more detailed thoughts on today’s religious and cultural topics.  Apologies.  But please don’t be shy with this next QUESTION OF THE WEEK.  My spiritual life has always been filled with ups and downs.  Many times I feel the closeness of God with such passion it is like a burning fire in my heart.  Other times my soul is a “dead zone,” not picking up the slightest frequency of God’s presence.  Even the likes of Mother Teresa is recorded to have such spiritual droughts:

Where is my faith? Even deep down … there is nothing but emptiness and darkness … If there be God—please forgive me. When I try to raise my thoughts to Heaven, there is such convicting emptiness that those very thoughts return like sharp knives and hurt my very soul … How painful is this unknown pain—I have no Faith. Repulsed, empty, no faith, no love, no zeal, … What do I labor for? If there be no God, there can be no soul. If there be no soul then, Jesus, You also are not true.

Tell me of your experience with this religious roller coaster.  How do you get back on track?  Or have you yet to get back to that zeal for God?  Is there any formula involved?  Look forward to reading your thoughts friends.

6 thoughts on “Question of the Week: Feeling God’s Presence

  1. I’ve traveled into that dark emptiness like many before. I don’t think there is any formula other than continually crying out to God in that abyss, day after day, hour after hour, moment after moment screaming out for a savior, for a God that has to respond or all of life will be darkness forever. For me it was like laying in a pile as ash and blood, covered in the mire of darkness and desperation. Thankfully, I only had to sit there for a few months. I believe that God heard and responded when I couldn’t take another moment. The revelation for me was that He came gently and quietly into that place. There was no light flooding in, but a gentle brush of His hand to let me know He was there. That was over a year ago and I’m still not fully recovered. Truthfully, I don’t want to be whole again until I’m actually in His presence because I want to have this scar, this spiritual limp to remind me to constantly rely on Him. Climbing out of the pit with Him has taught me more about the character of God than I could have ever imagined. It has yielded a depth of relationship that was never there before and yet encourages me to continue even deeper with God.
    I made the journey with the support of a spiritual mentor, a Christian counselor, and a couple close friends that held me together when I thought there was nothing to hold. Sometimes we need physical anchors when we’ve been dropped into a spiritual void.

  2. God IS “The light” The Divine Light that is in us all. You are choosing darkness! You even visualize it! Place your thoughts on the light! Visualize the LIGHT filing your physical and spiritual bodies! God wants us to be happy. You are depressed and reveling in it! CHOOSE HAPPINESS!

  3. mythoughts76 -I’m sure the world would be a much better place if all we could do is choose our way out of the difficulties of life. I hardly see anyone “reveling” in their depression. Keith was kind enough to share his heart, please CHOOSE to be a little more empathetic next time.

  4. I beg to differ with you erickandamada, I do have empathy for Keith, I know where he’s coming from. I have been depressed and I didn’t get well until I chose to. I got sick and tired of being filled with anxiety and fear and I decided it was time to put a stop to it. Then I made a true effort to be healed. I prayed a lot and asked God and his Angels to heal me and I stopped feeling sorry for myself. I was obsessed with my depression. It was all I ever thought about. I was the center of my own little world, and I omitted my husband, daughter, son and parents and sisters. I had no friends, I never went anywhere. I just felt this pain in my chest and my bones and I couldn’t sleep. I was in a dark hole also, but I had to visualize God’s light in and around me. I had to remember that God is always with me and in me.

  5. I apologize if I misunderstood your intent. Thank you for sharing. I’m sure you have a powerful testimony, as does Keith. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

