Weekly Question: Polygamy and the LDS

The show on TLC called “Sister-Wives” looks into the fundamentalist Mormon church and its practice of polygamy.  The following article gives a look into the practice and its close relation to the historical roots of the Church of Latter-Day Saints.  The LDS has been trying to shake their ties to polygamy for quite some time, but is it fair to do so?  Author Jon Krakauer wrote a must-read book called Under the Banner of Heaven, which attempts to re-tie the practice of polygamy to the LDS’s founders and roots.  So the question is: how closely should a religion be judged by its founders and roots, even in light of progress in civilization?  Chime in and let me know your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Question: Polygamy and the LDS

  1. I think the LDS has done an admirable job in separating itself from the early doctrine of polygamy. I think that the church leaders realized that to survive they needed to conform to the norms and values of the rest of America as close as possible to survive. So in effect they decided that survival and growth were more important than adherence to their “prophet’s” pure message. That is to be commended.
    Contrast that with wahhabi islam, which also has a highly organized and well funded center in Saudi Arabia and you get the other side of the coin. Like it or not, that brand of islam is essentially what is speaking for the rest of islamic world right now. Instead of looking to become a part of the melting pot of cultures surrounding it, it instead chooses to revert back to the original form of their “prophet.” So I think the LDS should not be judged by its founder and roots while islam should be.

  2. I have wathced the show sister wives and I honestly don’t get it. I think it’s unnatural for multiple women to be married to one man. I have tried to imagine my husband wanting to marry another woman while remaining married to me and it just wouldn’t work for me. Nor do I feel like it is an arrangment that God intended for us. Aside from the many theological differences in the LDS church (of which I believe is a cult) and the Christian church, I don’t believe scripture ever commanded us to be polygamous but to be monogamous. I do have to also commend the LDS church for trying to conform by their implentation of monogamy. It at least removed one barrier in their ability to spread their deceptive religion.

Leave a Reply

