Weekly Question: Do You Have the Christmas “Feeling”?

How many times do you hear people say, “It just doesn’t feel like Christmas yet,” or “I’m in the Christmas spirit?”  This year I performed all the usual rituals: decorate the tree, adorn the house, buy the gifts, party with friends, play carols on the car radio, watch the movies, sing in the church cantata, etc.  I can honestly say that I’ve made a strong effort.  To be honest, there were a few times when I really felt that warm, fuzzy feeling while completing my holiday assignments, but generally I don’t feel as though this week is any different than any other.  But seriously, what is this “Christmas feeling?”  Is it some mythological force in the air?  Is it a spiritual experience?  Or have we all just had a little too much eggnog?  What are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Weekly Question: Do You Have the Christmas “Feeling”?

  1. Yesterday in(adult)Sunday School I asked each person what they wanted for Christmas. As I expected, not one material thing was mentioned…it was all about family and peace. THAT gave me that “Christmas Feeling.” Also, reading about the birth of Christ always grounds me to what this week is all about. I decided that we have an “Ahhhhsome God” and when I can settle my soul and meditate on Him, I have that feeling we seek.

  2. Honestly when most people talk about the Christmas spirit there is nothing spiritual about it. They are talking about when they were children and this time of year felt magical. Spiritual or not I love seeing my children get excited and experience the same things I did.

Leave a Reply

