Weekly Question: Method to the Madness?

So my wife just mentioned something on her Facebook status about people not feeling generally motivated.  I’m also reading about two more mass shootings, one in Detroit and another in Washington, in addition to the recent Arizona shooting that landed Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords in the hospital.  I also hear about “seasonal depression,” and I wonder if it’s all connected.  Do the seasons really have an affect on people?  I wanted to say “weather,” but then I realized that Arizona generally has a warm weather climate.  Is there a method to all this madness or am I connecting dots that shouldn’t be?  Please discuss.

One thought on “Weekly Question: Method to the Madness?

  1. I don’t know if seasonal depression has an effect on mass shootings (although that could potentially be a reason for people to follow through on their crazy motives in the winter months), but I do think that seasons have an affect on people. I just started to experience “seasonal depression” in the past couple of years when it never really affected me before. I just get very unmotivated and want to hibernate during the winter months instead of getting out and doing things. I also know that it affects people in different intensities. Mine isn’t that intense, but I know people who actually have to have light therapy in the winter because their seasonal affective disorder is so bad. So again, I’m not sure if that’s the reason for the madness that is happening right now or if it’s just a result of how society is right now (what with the recession and its effects).

Leave a Reply

