The Dazzle and Frazzle of Change

My wife and I are now living in Shaker Heights, Oh, an inner-ring suburb of Cleveland.  I’m working as the associate pastor of Church of the Saviour UMC in Cleveland Heights, and the leader of GPS -a worship experience for people finding their way on their journey of life and faith.  Our move has certainly been filled with excitement.  There’s a vibrancy here, the result of a collection of people from all walks of life.  And there’s babies…lots of them-definitely a good sign as we expect our little one to arrive in a couple months now.  Life at the church has been busy.  We’re a larger congregation, so there’s always something going on.  Our social life has also gotten a bit of a boost.  There’s all sorts of new shops, restaurants, and grocery stores to check out; which has led Amanda to be quite adventurous.  Our two Boston Terriers, though they miss their big, fenced-in backyard terribly, are content with the multiple walks per day that we give them to (over?) compensate.  All in all, this transition has been a good one.

But…

I’m also tired.  The “To Do” list continues to grow like a wild vine despite my efforts to keep things simple.  I’m managing quite well…and so is Amanda.  But there’s also this constant feeling of wanting to be done with moving…unpacking…preparing.  After all, there’s a due date coming in late September that if I’m not carefull will ninja slap me in the face while my back is turned.  So my discipline in this small season of life is to simply take one day at a time…to do what I can do, and leave the rest to God.

My prayer for this morning:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart

And lean not on your own understanding;

In all your ways acknowledge Him,

And He will make your paths straight.

Do not be wise in your own eyes,

But fear the Lord and depart from evil. (Proverbs 3:5–7)

One thought on “The Dazzle and Frazzle of Change

Leave a Reply

