Are You Hearing Voices?

Coming up in the couple weeks I’m going to be preaching a series of sermons on Voices.  Well, not literal voices (although talk to me if you’re really hearing voices), but I’m talking more about the voices/statements that war in our minds and hearts that are negative or even oppressive.  Some examples include “I’m not good enough” or “You’ll never make it” or “Nobody likes you.”  I’ll venture a guess and say that given that we all have insecurities, we all have these kinds of voices.  The problem is that some of these voices/statements actually do become reality.

When I was what we call in the UMC a “student pastor,” I was pastoring a small, rural congregation just outside my seminary’s town.  Despite my confidence in all that I was learning in classes and the affirmation of my call to this type of work, I was just as insecure as the next person.  On one week day I opened my mailbox to find an anonymous, half torn postcard that had red pen marked on it “You’ll never make it as a pastor.”  Cruel, I know.  My heart sank, because despite the general adjusting to rural ministry there was nothing done that justified this kind of gesture.  And it cut right to the core of the voice inside of me that would repeat the very same thing.  I did find out who wrote the card, and it did help to know that it was from someone who was left unstable after the death of a loved one, but regardless it still hurt.

I know it’s a personal thing, but I’d love to hear your struggle with these “voices.”  Email me privately or message me on facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

