Sermon Snapshot: on DEBT

When I was in college, aside from religious fanatics I was bombarded by people wanting to give me a free T-shirt.  Although I found there was a bit of a catch.  I had to fill out a form, and at first I didn’t even know what this form was for.  But soon I found out it was for a credit card.  One day I gave in, but it wasn’t the classy T-shirt that sold me.  It was the simple realization that everyone else my age had a credit card or at least was signing up for one, and the normal thing to do was to sign up for one as well.  Years later, when Amanda and I took the Financial Peace University class, I realized that I had been duped.  The truth is that I didn’t need a credit card…normal had nothing to do with it…

Leave a Reply

