Treading Water

Growing up, there were a ton of games I played at the community pool.  Marco Polo, Sharks and Fish, or Cannonball Contests were my favorites.  But actually, I was also pretty good at treading water.

I’m still good at treading water, but it’s no way to live.

I wonder if today I could see some real advancement in my life, some real growth, some real, low-hanging fruit.  I wonder if I could see God’s love in action, if I could be an agent of His reaching grace.  

May I be diligent to add to my faith, virtue; and to virtue, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if these qualities are mine in increasing measure, they will keep me from being barren and unfruitful in the full knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. (2 Peter 1:5–8)

*Boa, K. (1993). Handbook to prayer: Praying scripture back to God. Atlanta: Trinity House.

Leave a Reply

