Changing the Subject

When a topic of conversation gets a little too personal, a little too uncomfortable, the best method is to change the subject.  Make no mistake, people can see right through your thoughts about weather and sports.  The diversion method that works best for me is to ask someone a question that would likely flatter someone else in the room.

“So how’s work going?  I bet you’ll be up for a promotion soon.”

“Are you dating anyone?  I wonder if we know someone who we could fix you up with.”

“How many semesters do you have left?  I’m really excited about your next steps of life.”

Normally, diverting attention away from myself means that there is a topic coming my way that is potentially damaging.

But what if the same divergence were used when lavished with praise and admonishment? How many times do I actually reflect the good things of my life and who I am to the One who has provided it?

Do I give God enough credit?

Not to us, O Lord, not to us,
But to Your name give glory,
Because of Your lovingkindness and truth. (Psalm 115:1)

*Boa, K. (1993). Handbook to prayer: Praying scripture back to God. Atlanta: Trinity House.

Leave a Reply

