The Way Out of a Tight Spot

When I was a youth pastor, I once took my slew of Jr. Highers to a summer camp that included  several unique expeditions.

One of these was caving.

Caving is quite enjoyable for the pre-teen body…not so for the youth pastor of the age that finds his metabolism waning and his belly growing.  There were times of near panic as I squeezed myself into places I was sure there was no way out of.  The trick, I learned, in the confusion of darkness is to trust your guide, not your fear.

Following the instructions of my guide always led to a way out of a tight spot.

Thanks to God, my Guide, who always presents a way out.

No temptation has overtaken me except what is common to man. And God is faithful, who will not let me be tempted beyond what I am able, but with the temptation will also provide a way out, so that I may be able to endure it. (1 Corinthians 10:13)

*Boa, K. (1993). Handbook to prayer: Praying scripture back to God. Atlanta: Trinity House.

Leave a Reply

