Asking Why Is Perhaps the Wrong Prayer

In the span of It’s the Question that Drives Us, I have sought to share my own journey as a source of dialogue, comradeship, and perhaps even hope.  Much of that journey has been spent asking ‘why’.  It is an essential question, I think…and it’s helped me to rediscover who I am and who God is time and time again.

But when I watch the news and see something as horrific as a two-mile wide tornado rip through a couple schools, I have to say that ‘why’ doesn’t help much.

Set aside the “why would God cause this?” and you’re still left with “why would God not prevent this?”

The question ‘why’ can be agonizing for those that grieve, but in my experience people aren’t truly interested knowing the answer.  What people are really saying is, “God, stop this” or “God, I’m angry at you.”  They don’t want to know why certain things happen, they just want it to stop.

Part of being a follower of Jesus, I think, is to pray for, hope for, and work for the kingdom of God to come down on earth.  There’s not a lot of room for ‘why’ in there.  There is, however, plenty of room for other prayers.  Today I invite you to join with me in these simple prayers (and then perhaps take time to add your own):

How long, O Lord, must we endure?

O God, replace tragedy with Your love…

Peace on this earth, O Father…

Your kingdom come, Your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven…

…Amen.

Leave a Reply

