Why God May Have Started Instagram

Despite the great weather, I decided to go to the “Y” because I could lift weights.  My son, Asher, didn’t like that idea.  He waited until I was just 10 minutes into my run to give the Child Watch girls all they could handle in snot and tears.

“Erin Marshall, please come to Child Watch.”  Apparently I have bad handwriting.

We waited until his mom finished up, packed up, and headed home.  Amanda told me to go finish my run in our neighborhood while she finished up dinner…what a great wife I have!  So I ran.

On the last leg of my route I noticed quite a picture as I began to walk.  It was the deepest blue, cloudless sky matched up against the stark green of grass and trees.  I kid you not, I thought Instagram had messed with my eyes.

In that moment, I wondered why is it that I rarely see the world this way.  The smart-alec answer is: “because I live in Ohio.”  Ok, true.  But why do not see the world this way?  Is it truly because such beauty is rare…or perhaps do I need to get my eyes checked?

Lift up your eyes on high and see:
Who created these?
He who brings out their host and numbers them,
calling them all by name;
because he is great in strength,
mighty in power,
not one is missing. (Is 40:26)

Leave a Reply

