What Do Wise People Do?

When I was in high school I read 1Kings 3 where Solomon is offered anything from Yahweh.  Despite the array of choices, Solomon chooses wisdom over riches.

Almost everyday for the last two years of my high school career I prayed for that same wisdom.  Eventually that prayer faded out, making me wonder what would happen if I actually kept it up.  Maybe I’d actually be wise.

So from someone who is definitely not wise, perhaps I can inspect wise guys from a third-party perspective.  Here’s what I notice:

  1. Wise people are active listeners.
  2. Wise people know what to say in many situations, or they continue listening.
  3. Wise people don’t freak out…they relish the process of problem-solving.
  4. Wise people are a non-anxious presence.  You want to be around them.
  5. Wise people also just feel comfortable in their own skin.  They’re happy with who they are.

But there’s more.

As a follower of Jesus, I’m always looking for the wisdom to…well…follow Jesus.  To that end, the following Scripture might more appropriately capture what it means to be wise:

 

Whoever is wise will consider the lovingkindness of the Lord. (Psalm 107:43)

*Boa, K. (1993). Handbook to prayer: Praying scripture back to God. Atlanta: Trinity House.

Leave a Reply

