Don’t You Hate People that Don’t Follow Through?

Coming to the place of a decision is a good thing.  Second-guessers are always spending 20 minutes at the toothpaste aisle.  What a glorious day when a decision is made.

But then there are the impulsive bunch that have no trouble saying “yes” or “no,” even despite all odds.  These are a well-intended people, but their commitments are largely made with an emotional motivation.  You get a “yes” from them in a heartbeat, but mostly because they like the sound of the word and the smiles it creates.  A “no” comes harshly when you make a request of this person right at the time when they realize they have said “yes” too many times to too many people.

Making a decision is a big deal, but so if following through.

Here’s where I’m going with this: in the summer before my senior year of high school I finally realized that God had been chasing me, and I made a decision to follow Jesus Christ for the rest of my life.  It was an amazing moment in my life…life-altering really.  And since that day I wrestle with following through on that commitment.

Sometimes it’s a lack of will.  And sometimes I blind my awareness to what it truly means to follow, to model my life after the example of Jesus.  I realize this is no easy thing, and I suppose that many of you would chime back to point out how much I’ve done in response to my faith.

When Jesus famously called his disciples, “Come and follow me,” they made the decision to follow him.  But this wasn’t an introspective, invite-Jesus-into-your-heart decision.  They left everything, altering not their hearts but their circumstances.  In fact, believing in their hearts came much later.

Making a decision is a big deal, but so is following through.

What does it look like to follow Jesus?  Not just deciding to follow, but really following?

One thought on “Don’t You Hate People that Don’t Follow Through?

  1. I really have no idea, but it’s only been 34 years since I started trying! If we could see “through the glass”…brightly and clearly or if the veil didn’t so often impede our vision, I guess we wouldn’t need to have faith.

Leave a Reply

