How Much Energy Goes Into Never Really Addressing an Issue?

My computer is acting funny.

The backlight on the flat monitor screen goes dark, making it impossible to continue my work.  I’ve had this problem before and a technician took care of it.  I suppose I’ll get to that eventually.  But if I plug in the computer, all is well again.  And so that’s what I do.  It may be annoying, but I have gotten used to not using my laptop without plugging it into a wall.  It may defeat the purpose of a laptop altogether, but that’s my new normal.

How many times do we put a band-aid on a gash and hope that the problem goes away?   How much trouble do we go through to never really address an issue or a problem for the sake of getting by in the moment?

Many times throughout my marriage, I would bury small annoyances because I didn’t want to go through the discomfort of a disagreement.  The problem is that those little things pile on top of each other and build into a big thing.  I would erupt with a litany of past grievances –simple things that if they were addressed in the moment would be bygones.

It’s helpful sit and take the time to meditate on those small discomforts…or large ones for that matter.  Converse with yourself.  Dig deep.  Then reconcile.

I know it hurts.  But if you don’t; trust me…it won’t go away.

2 thoughts on “How Much Energy Goes Into Never Really Addressing an Issue?

  1. This reminds me of a “Nearly and Newly Married” class my wife and I were in as an engaged couple. Everyone else was newly married and when we would split off with just the guys or just the girls, I was always amazed at how the guys would gripe and complain about their significant other. It was unbelievable!

    I remember the first time Lindsey and I got in the car after this happened, she had the SAME experience with the girls. It is so sad to me that couples are willing to publicly bash their spouses, but unwilling to confront a problem or aggrivation.

    Thanks for sharing this!

    Be well,
    Steve

    1. Yikes, I’m sure that was super uncomfortable. Communication is the highlight of the premarital counseling sessions that I lead. It’s tough, but so needed. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

