What Can I Learn From Leaders? (leveraging strengths)

…that’s what I asked Brad Withers, a business consultant from our church.  The following blog posts take us through his answer.

“Spend time and energy on leveraging strengths vs. growing weaknesses.”

This seems counter-intuitive.

We all hate our weaknesses, whether we wallow in them or completely ignore them.  We wish they didn’t exist; but they do.  Out of a sense of people pleasing, or extreme pride, we may fight like mad to make those weaknesses go away.  But the effort is draining; and while you may limit the damage of your weakness, you create more damage on your strengths.

It’s important, I think, to own our weaknesses.  This doesn’t mean we need to take on the attitude of: “well this is who I am so you need to deal with it.”  People deserve more humility from us.  Owning our weaknesses means to be honest and vulnerable enough to admit that I can’t do it all and that I’m dependent upon the work of a team –team members that may have strength in the areas where I am weak.

This idea is packed with integrity and honesty.

My struggle here is people-pleasing…and maybe a dose of pride.  I want to be good at everything.  So the question is, can I have enough humility to own up?

Leave a Reply

