What Can We Learn from a Government Shutdown?

Government shut doooooooowwwwwn.

Did I do a ton of research on this topic?  You bet I didn’t.  Why?  Don’t need to.  Let me pin the tail on the…uh-hem…

Government needs to act.

Government doesn’t agree on how to act.

Like a good robot, Government shuts down, ala Terminator.

This is a tough thing, because people’s lives will be affected by this, at least life at they knew it.  The thing that many people relied on suddenly became unreliable.  And here’s my point.  I’m not saying that social service agencies can’t help people, because they do.  I don’t want people to suddenly stop being helped, I just want people to stop relying so heavily on a house built on the sand.  Reliance upon the Government can reach religious levels, and that is wrong.

And I’m not just talking about the recipient.  Able-bodied, secret agents of care are asleep at the wheel, especially the kind that believe in a mandate from God to help.  If there is any time to be reminded of this, it’s now.

Leave a Reply

