Are You Appreciating Rest?

I can’t help but think that my car, which stands naked in the blistering cold of winter to accommodate the van that occupies the 1.5-car garage (I know, right?!), takes quite the beating.  It’s just not the same since the last house with the 2-car garage.  Cars need that refuge from the elements, a place to sit and rest in peace.  Am I personifying cars too much?  Well okay…I’m trying to make a point here.

The point is that we also need a place of refuge.  We need rest, and I’m not talking about sitting on the couch answering emails while your wife watches The Bachelor.  If you’re like me, you’re a better employee, parent, spouse, and friend with adequate rest.

Psalm 127:2 says, “It is pointless that you get up early and stay up late, eating the bread of hard labor because God gives sleep to those he loves.” (CEB)

Carve out that time for rest; it’s a gift.

Leave a Reply

