Lent With No Car: Walking

I walked a lot yesterday.  A lot. Back when I was driving, I saw a lot of people walking on the street in the cold. I felt bad, but not enough to stop.  If you’re young and healthy, no big deal really.  But if you’re disabled, or old, or wearing nice clothes on your way to a job interview, then it’s a problem.  I wrote about this before, but when things get busy and complicated it’s nice to have a car.

With no car, you’re forced to simplify and localize. That’s actually an attractive thing, but right now it seems like I’m forcing a square peg into a round hole. I’m still living a life that needs a car, but without it. Needless to say, I would be making major changes in my life if this were a permanent thing.

I guess what I’m trying to say is: I’ve not realized before now how my life is effected by something like a car. My faith, my family, my career I could understand… but a car? And what other material objects effect my life in powerful ways?

Leave a Reply

