Are You Home?

Incarceration.  That’s how the old, grizzled military veteran described his stay at the nursing home.  He clarified that the place was nice; the people are nice.  “But shit man, I just want to go home!”

It was enough to debase this curmudgeon to tears.

I didn’t know what to say.  What was I going to say?

Here I am sitting on my favorite chair with my feet up.  I don’t own my home, but this is home.  It’s freedom and joy.  It’s where I pause to breathe. It’s where I’m not alone. It’s heaven.

Are you home?

This isn’t a question about a house. Your real home is out of this world; but it’s also here and now…on earth as it is in heaven.

Leave a Reply

