Is There a Difference Between a 40 and 60 Hour Work Week?

In his book Choosing to Cheat, Andy Stanley asserts that in most professions there’s not really that big of a difference in production between a 40 hour work week and a 60 hour work week.  This came up in a conversation with friends, along with the Boomer generation, careers, and what we value in life.

Do you agree with this?

Putting it to the test, I began trimming.  What I’m finding so far is that yes, the production doesn’t seem to be that much greater.  But a new set of problems have cropped up:

  1. It’s really hard to hold up the boundaries of a shorter work week, especially when I never trimmed my responsibilities.
  2. I have to say “No” more; and responding to emails gets put on the back burner.
  3. (the real issue) I have to be OK with not being available for everybody all the time, and disappointing them.
  4. (also the real issue)  I have to rely more than ever on God.  After all, I do believe that God is working, right?  Seriously though, when did I start behaving like an agnostic?

What are your thoughts on this?  And do you think expectations will be brought back down to earth as the Baby Boomers continue to retire?

 

Leave a Reply

