Who Wins in the Battle Over Time?

First, a word about my silence over the last few weeks. Truth is, I got really busy and really tired. Creative power for me is basically like a new bag of chips mostly filled with air anyways. So let’s just say I ran out of chips and I couldn’t be bothered to run to the store for more. All this to say: I appreciate if/when you read this blog. I still have a long way to go as a writer, but I hope it’s been somewhat meaningful/challenging/engaging for you.

Now…let me tell you what I did on Sunday. I didn’t go to church (playing hooky would make me sound dangerous; but alas it was just my week off). Instead I went to the Cleveland Museum of Art, looking for God in the expressions of artists old and modern. There were several revelations, actually, but one that I’ll share with you here. It seems that since the beginning of time people have been fighting over just that…time. People that value the traditions of old, such as Realism, butting heads with the Romantics among others. 

I live in the world of people expressing themselves to God, and so I also deal with the old-new dynamic. People that find God in the traditions of liturgy and Scripture; people seeing the movement of God’s Spirit in new and active ways. But believing that God is a God of the past, present, and future, do you think that maybe all this old-new fighting is just us? Hey you Traditionalist! Don’t you need someone looking ahead for you? Hey Futurist, haven’t you learned from the past? Perhaps it’s time to stop fighting over time and realize that there’s value in both.

Leave a Reply

