Why Is God So Slow?

2 Peter 3:9New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

The Lord is not slow about his promise, as some think of slowness, but is patient with you, not wanting any to perish, but all to come to repentance.

This Scripture gave me a wake-up call. Here I find myself to be rather impatient with God…waiting for His will…waiting for His voice…waiting for anything. 

“Get over it,” I read.  “God is on His time, not yours.”  Ok, I suppose I can deal with that.  But then a tricky little twist. It’s good that God is slow. Why? Because that allows God to be patient with me. Turns out, I’m the slow one. Slow to catch on.  Slow to follow.

My soon to be 3 year-old is pretty slow. He takes foooooreeeever to get into the car or to trudge upstairs for his bath. Because he’s slow, I’m slow. I’m more late to things now more than ever in my life.  

Now how ridiculous would it be if he were to turn around and accuse me of being slow?

What?! What do you mean? I’m waiting on you!

Turns out that God is slow for my benefit and on my behalf; and for that…I’m thankful.

Leave a Reply

